Menlo School Library: Reform proposal: Project resources

Finding background info

Look at any reasonably reliable overview source. Remember to keep track of search terms and vocabulary related to your topic—you will use those to go more in depth in your research.

Try searching these Menlo databases:

Points of View (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Articles on a wide variety of controversial topics can be found in this database.
- What’s included?
  Tertiary, secondary and primary sources, opinion essays, newspaper articles, transcripts of radio and television programs.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Find long-form reference articles on a wide variety of topics.
- What’s included?
  Signed, peer-reviewed, topic-specific articles from 25 individual encyclopedias.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This is an excellent database for finding information about issues affecting the world at large.
- What’s included?
  Tertiary, secondary and primary source materials, statics, and viewpoint essays. Topics include a wide variety of environmental and social issues.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Begin your research by reading authoritative tertiary sources like the ones found here.
- What’s included?
  In-depth overview articles, often with links to supporting primary source materials. Also includes a world atlas with statistical information on individual countries plus the ability to compare any two countries.

Finding evidence

Conduct comparative searches:

Use keywords like:
- international model
- case study
- global perspective
- comparative study
- Example: universal healthcare international models
Look up "top countries for [proposed reform of an issue]"
- Example: top countries with universal healthcare
- Find top countries so you can dig deeper into why those countries score well

Check policy databases & global indexes:

Environmental Performance Index (EPI)
Ranks countries’ performance on environmental issues
Migration Policy Institute
Reports on immigration and integration policies
OECD Health Statistics
Compares health spending, outcomes, and policies among member countries
Our World in Data: Global Education
Provides data and insights on education around the world.
Pew Research Center
Informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world
RAND Corporation
Policy briefs that compare countries
World Bank Open Data
Economic and social policy comparisons

Use global and national news to find articles:

Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Look here for news articles from around the world including many of today’s newspapers.
Economist This link opens in a new window
Publishes a range of articles that cover technology to geopolitics, finance and economics. Email Ms. Otero with an article link to get a copy.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Get access to the NYT by following the instructions for Menlo's digital subscription.

News across the spectrum
Visit our news research guide to get links to news global and national news sources.

Finding books

Menlo Library catalog

Click here to search for physical books in the Menlo Library.

If searching for a general topic, keep those searches simple: use broad terms, just a few words

Menlo Ebook Catalog

EBSCO Ebook Collection - Has full text of thousands of academic/research titles

San Mateo County Public Libraries

Click here to search for books available through our local public libraries.

Bibliography resources

Use our Chicago Style guide for specific examples.

View a Sample Annotated Bibliography on the sample pages tab.

Google searching tips

Use quotation marks around words or phrases for an exact match e.g. “Russian Revolution”
Use a ~ before a word/phrase to pull up synonyms e.g. ~“global warming” will also include climate change, etc.
Use a hyphen before a word to eliminate it from a search e.g. “global warming” -hoax
Use insite: to limit by website e.g. “global warming” insite:nytimes.com
Use site: to limit by domain e.g. “global warming” site:.edu
Use filetype: to search by a specific file or extension type e.g. filetype:pdf
Use intitle: e.g. searching for intitle:russian revolution stalin ensures EACH term shows in the title

Reform proposal: Project resources