Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For the background portion of your research you can really look at any reasonably reliable general overview source. Remember to keep track of search terms and vocabulary related to your topic - you will use those for the more serious parts of your research.
Try searching these Menlo databases:
In general, academic journal articles are not found using a Google search. Sometimes you will find articles published on a university website, but it is much easier to use one of these journal databases:
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of journals and magazine. Click the "peer-reviewed" if looking for scholarly perspectives.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in this database focus on aspects of diverse cultures and peoples.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is the gold standard for academic, peer-reviewed journals. Use Advanced Search, and select "Articles" to remove book reviews. Book reviews aren't useful for most research projects.
Some of these databases have a variety of sources, so be sure to use filters to choose the primary source type you are searching for.
Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
News articles from the time of an event are primary source. Use this database to find news from around the world dating from 1993 to today.
AP Images Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Associated Press is a journalism news organization. this database has news coverage dating back to the early 1900s.
Historical Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to US national newspapers dating back to 1850. It does not include current news.
World History: The Modern Era (ABC-Clio) This link opens in a new window
This database includes thousand of primary sources. Use the limiters on your search results to narrow your search to primary sources.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
If you are researching a social issues topic, this database provides access to information from around the world.
But wait, there's more!
There are far more websites available than could possible be listed in this guide, but here are a few starting places.