Menlo School Library: Primary, secondary and tertiary sources: Tertiary sources

Overview

A tertiary source provides a broad overview of a topic. It should not show an open bias or opinion about the topic, and rarely includes references to source material. Often there is no author indicated.

To begin your research, you'll need a list of search terms related to your topic. Look for the names of people, treaties, government statues, battles, places - anything that opens a door to further exploration of your topic. You can find this kind of information in a wide variety of places, including:

Encyclopedias, both print and online
A textbook
A nonfiction book that provides descriptive overviews
Websites that provide background or overview information: BBC, History Channel, US Office of the Historian overviews, etc.
Any authoritative source that provides a description of an event, rather than a historical opinion or analysis

It is very helpful to create a research document for taking brief notes, keeping track of search terms, saving website urls to revisit, and asking questions that will guide your research. This is not something to turn in - it is for your own use and should be organized in whatever way works best for you.

Finding tertiary sources in Menlo School Library databases

ABC-Clio all topics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Look for articles labeled "Reference" of "Biography." Use the Advanced Search link to apply filters, so your results list only has reference articles.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Begin your research by reading authoritative tertiary sources like the ones found here.
- What’s included?
  In-depth overview articles, often with links to supporting primary source materials. Also includes a world atlas with statistical information on individual countries plus the ability to compare any two countries.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
If your research topic concerns a social issue this can be a good source of information, with topic overviews that are useful tertiary sources.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Click Advanced Search, then enter your search term. Scroll down to Publication Type (on the right) and select Encyclopedia.
MAS Ultra (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Enter your search term. From the results list window, navigate to the Source Types area in the left column. Click Show More, then select Reference Books.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Look here for reference information of all types.
- What’s included?
  Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Find long-form reference articles on a wide variety of topics.
- What’s included?
  Signed, peer-reviewed, topic-specific articles from 25 individual encyclopedias.

Step one: tertiary research

This worksheet will guide you through the first step of your research process.

Tertiary research worksheet

Citation checklist

Do you want to be sure you have formatted your research paper correctly? Click the link below to download a Chicago style citation and formatting checklinst.

Citation formatting checklist

Research Organization Template

Want help keeping track of all your sources? Make a copy of this research organization Google Doc template and customize it however best fits your needs.