Menlo School Library: Marine ecosystems: Websites

Useful for all topics!

Census of Marine Life
Lots of information from a 10 year study of the ocean.
Cousteau Society
Information about the Society's voyages and the ocean areas that have been explored.
MARE Habitat Home Page
Marine resources from the Lawrence Hall of Science.
MarineBio: The Ocean
Learn about ocean science, global warming, and ocean conservation initiatives.
Marine Biomes
Information from the Department of Geospatial Science at Radford University.
Marine Ecosystems
Nicely organized site with information about shorelines, temperate oceans and tropical oceans.
Ocean Life: Diversity, Distribution, Abundance
A fun, interactive map showing the locations of vents and seeps, and the movement of sealife and seabirds.
Oceans Alive
Information about many aspects of the ocean, written for use by middle school students.
Plastic Pollution in the Ocean
Information about ocean trash.
Seafood Watch
From the Monterey Bay Aquarium, this site promotes sustainable fishing practices.
Wildlife Species of San Francisco Bay Area
Lots of information about animals found in the Bay Area.

The Arctic
Information about life in the arctic region and threats posed by human activity.
Arctic Biodiversity Assessment
Downloadable report on the diversity of life in arctic areas.

Sanctuary Integrated Monitoring Network
Information about a variety of northern California marine ecosystems.

Coral & Coral Reefs
Information about the reef ecosystem from Sea World.
Great Barrier Reef
A collection of news articles about the reef, from Science Daily.
Great Barrier Reef Foundation
Information from a group that works to preserve the Great Barrier Reef.
NOAA Coral Reef Conservation Program
Information about deep sea corals.

Creatures of the Deep Sea
Interactive site with information about many of the animals found in the deep ocean.
Creatures of the Thermal Vents
Description of deep sea life, from the Smithsonian's Ocean Planet exhibition.
Marine Biology research at MBARI
Links to recent research on deep sea life, including threats to this environment.

Estuaries
Learn about life in an estuary.
Are Our Aquatic Ecosystems Healthy?
Learn about various California aquatic ecosystems.
Elkhorn Slough
The official website of the Elkhorn Slough Foundation and national research reserve.
Estuaries
Lots of information about estuaries!
Island County Estuaries
Information on estuaries in Washington state.
Sanctuary Integrated Monitoring Network
Information about a variety of northern California marine ecosystems.
Save the Bay
Lots of information about San Francisco Bay.
Eelgrass Could Save the Planet
Interesting article about eelgrass from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Kelp Forest
Interactive site from the Monterey Bay Aquarium for diving through the kelp forest and learning about sea life.
Sanctuary Integrated Monitoring Network
Information about a variety of northern California marine ecosystems.

Sanctuary Integrated Monitoring Network
Information about a variety of northern California marine ecosystems.
Intertidal Ecology
In-depth information about tide pools, from Sea World.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Begin your research by reading authoritative tertiary sources like the ones found here.
- What’s included?
  In-depth overview articles, often with links to supporting primary source materials. Also includes a world atlas with statistical information on individual countries plus the ability to compare any two countries.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This is an excellent database for finding information about issues affecting the world at large.
- What’s included?
  Tertiary, secondary and primary source materials, statics, and viewpoint essays. Topics include a wide variety of environmental and social issues.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Look here for broad coverage of a large number of scientific topics.
- What’s included?
  Reference articles, peer-reviewed journals, books and magazine articles.
World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  This reference encyclopedia is a good starting point for research projects.
- What’s included?
  This large reference encyclopedia is available in several reading levels, and also includes a Spanish language version.