Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BBC - Religions
General information about a large variety of religious beliefs.
Collection of links to information about a variety of religions and cults.
More than 6,800 entries on folklore, mythology, and religion.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
Comprehensive information about many religions from the Hartford Institute for Religious Research.
Internet History Sourcebooks
Primary sources from history. Use the links to go to the appropriate time period.
Kenyon College Department of Religious Studies
Collection of web links for a number of informational religion web pages.
Maps of War
How has the geography of religion evolved over the centuries? Who has controlled the Middle East over the course of world events?
Overview of World Religions Project
Directory of world religions, organized by geographical area.
Extensive information about many religions. Click "Religious Group Profiles" on the rights side of the page for a directory. In the process of being moved from the University of Virginia to the University of Missouri; presently located at Archive.org.
Index to information about a variety of religions, cults, and spiritual paths.
News and current events
Current news and politics, presented through the lens of faith.
Nonpartisan coverage of current news, from the Institute on Religion and Public Life, an interreligious research organization.
Current news on many religions from the Huffington Post.
NPR radio broadcast, podcasts and website, with discussions of many social aspects of religious belief.
Religion & Ethics Newsweekly
Current religious news reporting from PBS.
Current news " at the intersection of religion, politics and culture" from the Annenberg School at USC.
Religion News Service
Wide coverage of current news about religious topics.
Times Topics: Religion and Belief
Useful site for finding information about a variety of religions and cults. Click "Organizations" for Aum Shinrikyo, Branch Davidians, Heaven's Gate, etc.; click "Subjects" for mainstream religions.
Islam: Basic Articles of Faith
Overview of Islam, from the BBC.
The Shia-Sunni Divide
In-depth information and historical background on the two divisions of Islam, from the Council on Foreign Relations.
An overview of the beliefs of Muslims who embrace the teachings of Abd Al-Wahhab.
Finding books about religions in the library
The 200s portion of the nonfiction collection contains most (but not all) of the library's books about religion. Books about individual religions are shelved together. You can browse that section, or try searching the library catalog using the name of the religion you are interested in
Books about particular religions are often placed on a cart for use during research projects. If books have been pulled, please do not take them home without asking a member of the library staff, as many students will need access to those books.
These databases will be useful for researching religions topics. Log in with your Menlo username and password.
- Why search here?
Begin your research by reading authoritative tertiary sources like the ones found here.
- What’s included?
In-depth overview articles, often with links to supporting primary source materials. Also includes a world atlas with statistical information on individual countries plus the ability to compare any two countries.
- Why search here?
Look here for reference information of all types.
- What’s included?
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
From EBSCO: extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, and religious history.