East Asia
Declassified documents relating to the Cold War, Korea, and nuclear proliferation.
The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949.
European
Specific guides on various regions and subjects.
Collection of primary & secondary content relating to British and Irish history, and histories of empire and the British world.
A variety of documents covering 1000 years of British history.
Digitized materials from the Bodleian Library at Oxford.
Large collection of links to primary documents.
EuroDocs: European Sources by Topic
Primary source collections docs on conversion to Christianity, human rights, religious reformations, and women's roles/rights.
Books, images, audio, and video from European libraries, archives, and museums.
A large collection of primary sources from Germany, including letters and speeches from the Nazi era.
Speeches, posters, cartoons, etc.
Scanned Books from Various European Libraries, The Internet Archive
Offers access to scanned books from several European libraries.
Propaganda posters from the Spanish Civil War.
Latin America and the Caribbean
Primary sources from Latin America, from the Modern History Sourcebook.
An archive of newspapers and documents from around the Caribbean.
A collection of links to primary source documents from and/or about Latin America.
Middle East and North Africa
Established as part of the Cooperative Digitization of International Research Materials (CDIRM) project. Selected materials from Guatemala, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Israel, Palestine, Yemen, and Mongolia, and numerous other countries.
Offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions.
Provides global access to newspapers from around the world. The Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region.
Digitized collection of almost 200 volumes of core materials for the study of the Ancient Near East.
Dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. Covers all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.
Promotes research to achieve a better understanding and provide crucial insights into the society, economy, politics, religion and culture of Iran and other Persian Gulf countries. Also a center of advanced research on the relations between Israel and Iran, as well as on the Jewish communities of the Persian Gulf, in particular Iran.
Haifa University collections of photographs from various sources that have been donated to the library's Digital Media Center to provide accessibility to these historical photographs for educational and research purposes or for private use.
Palestinian Poverty Atlas is a WMS map that uses unit record data from the Palestinian general Population and Housing Census of 2017 and PECS 2016. A national household expenditure survey conducted by the Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics (PCBS) that collects information on a range of topics including food and non-food expenditures, core data on socio-economic and health characteristics, dwelling conditions, and labor activities and incomes.
Hundreds of digital reproductions of texts on Islam from Harvard's renowned library and museum collections.
Tells the story of Mohamed Ali Eltaher (also known by his traditional Arab nickname, Aboul-Hassan) and his wife. It provides the sources and references needed for those who are interested to learn more about him, and, more importantly, to learn about the history of the Near East and North Africa between 1912 and 1974.
Hosts e-books by authors who are censored in Iran. The books are novels, short stories, poetry and memoirs that cover topics such as art, history, society and politics. The site also contains podcasts and a blog.
Bilingual collection of Arabic manuscripts in southern Mauritania (Boutilimit). Seven other West African collections have been entered, including the manuscript libraries at the Institut Mauritanien de Recherche Scientifique, Nouakchott; Northwestern University; the original hand-list of manuscripts at the IHERIAB (Centre Ahmad Baba) repository in Timbuktu.
Explore the lives of women during the Qajar era (1796-1925) through a wide array of materials from private family holdings and participating institutions.
Multiple Regions
Seeks to preserve cultural heritage and make it available to as wide an audience as possible. Includes materials in written, pictorial or audio formats, including manuscripts, rare printed books, documents, newspapers, periodicals, photographs and sound recordings. Reflect archives from many African, Caribbean, Eastern European, Middle Eastern, South American, South Asian, and Southeast Asian countries.
Established as part of the Cooperative Digitization of International Research Materials (CDIRM) project. Selected materials from Guatemala, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Israel, Palestine, Yemen, and Mongolia, and numerous other countries.
Large collection of historical documents, essays and images related to Marxism around the world.
Range of historical documents from Europe, Asia, Africa, and more.
This site is representative of diverse collections from the Northwestern Government and Geographic Information collection, Herskovits Library of African Studies, Music Library, McCormick Library of Special Collections, Transportation Library, and University Archives.